On a MacMini I used the command convert F_.png movie.gif and got the GIF I want but -- here's where my gross inexperience shows up -- I can't figure out how to get a Powerpoint (using VMware) nor OpenOffice presentation to accept it.
How can I either
* convert that GIF to automated GIF or AVI or something that old PPT or OO will accept
or * get something like what's shown at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gGvRZLFzjDA for OSX(SnowLeopard) ?
animation from sequence of PNGs
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 2014-02-01T09:48:29-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: animation from sequence of PNGs
Code: Select all
convert F_.png movie.gif
Code: Select all
convert F_*.png movie.gif
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: animation from sequence of PNGs
to make it animate, you need to add -delay X before the input images and and -loop 0 before the output gif to tell it how many time to loop. Zero means do not stop looping.
see
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/anim_basics/
Code: Select all
convert -delay 20 F_*.png -loop 0 movie.gif
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/anim_basics/
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 2014-02-01T09:48:29-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
Re: animation from sequence of PNGs
I had tried that command, and did again more recently, with mixed success. The problem isn't with ImageMagick but, between operating systems, PPT versions, plus GIF formats in general, there's a ton of incompatibilities. One item I underestimated at first was the need to preface the filenames; just using "F1.--- F2.--- etc, allows the sequence to get arbitrarily jumbled (I still
don't know how or why). Even with that straightened out, though, success is mixed. I use PPT (not the latest version) through VMware to Mac OSX(Snow Leopard) and, on Windows, the file isn't accepted at all. OpenOffice doesn't like it either, so I learned about ReelBean from another (archived) discussion and used that to convert to .MOV. Even that isn't accepted by Windows PPT but, fortunately, OpenOffice Impress will play it -- but only once. Slide Show goes still after that one cycle; the zero (indicating continuous replay) had no effect. I then made another copy which I put into ReelBean and clicked on the "repeat" which worked
-- for just that one run. After a "Save As" in that new location, I tried to insert that (modified-for-repeat) file into OO Impress.
It wouldn't take it. Also, attempting to reopen that modified-for-repeat file into ReelBean consistently failed.
Overall result: I can run one cycle in OpenOffice Impress. I can't do more than that.
Compatibility - WOW. There should be a more robust way to get PNG sequences into PPT without all this trouble. Whatever that way would be, it probably won't involve GIF formats. I appreciate the considerate responses.
don't know how or why). Even with that straightened out, though, success is mixed. I use PPT (not the latest version) through VMware to Mac OSX(Snow Leopard) and, on Windows, the file isn't accepted at all. OpenOffice doesn't like it either, so I learned about ReelBean from another (archived) discussion and used that to convert to .MOV. Even that isn't accepted by Windows PPT but, fortunately, OpenOffice Impress will play it -- but only once. Slide Show goes still after that one cycle; the zero (indicating continuous replay) had no effect. I then made another copy which I put into ReelBean and clicked on the "repeat" which worked
-- for just that one run. After a "Save As" in that new location, I tried to insert that (modified-for-repeat) file into OO Impress.
It wouldn't take it. Also, attempting to reopen that modified-for-repeat file into ReelBean consistently failed.
Overall result: I can run one cycle in OpenOffice Impress. I can't do more than that.
Compatibility - WOW. There should be a more robust way to get PNG sequences into PPT without all this trouble. Whatever that way would be, it probably won't involve GIF formats. I appreciate the considerate responses.
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: animation from sequence of PNGs
I don't do GIF or presentations much but, just for fun, I put one of my GIFs into OpenOffice Impress, v4.0.1 (on Windows 8.1), and saved as a PPT. It works fine, continuously looping, both when viewing in design mode and as a slideshow.
I created the GIF with "convert -delay 20 %FRAMES_DIR%\itr_f_*.png itr.gif". I think the default for "-loop" is 0.
I created the GIF with "convert -delay 20 %FRAMES_DIR%\itr_f_*.png itr.gif". I think the default for "-loop" is 0.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: animation from sequence of PNGs
Have you tried
convert -delay 20 F_*.png -loop 0 miff:- | convert - animation.mov
or
convert -delay 20 F_*.png -loop 0 miff:- | convert - animation.avi
But most players will ignore the -loop 0 and just loop once, unless you choose the LOOP option in the player.
The order gets jumbled if you do not have leading zeros in your file names. Thus F_10.png would come before F_2.png
To get the right order, use
F_0001.png
F_0002.png
...
F_0010.png
etc
convert -delay 20 F_*.png -loop 0 miff:- | convert - animation.mov
or
convert -delay 20 F_*.png -loop 0 miff:- | convert - animation.avi
But most players will ignore the -loop 0 and just loop once, unless you choose the LOOP option in the player.
The order gets jumbled if you do not have leading zeros in your file names. Thus F_10.png would come before F_2.png
To get the right order, use
F_0001.png
F_0002.png
...
F_0010.png
etc
Re: animation from sequence of PNGs
The default image->iterations used in the GIF decoder is 1 in ImageMagick, which means "play once". If you are converting from another format, it is likely to default to 0 in the GIF encoder, which means "play forever".snibgo wrote:. I think the default for "-loop" is 0.