can not create hald-CLUT

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
OsunSeyi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-02-25T03:31:13-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

can not create hald-CLUT

Post by OsunSeyi »

Hi,
have the same problem like danielHeen had in this post:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=15906

Code: Select all

convert hald:8 hald.png
convert: no decode delegate for this image format `8' @ error/constitute.c/ReadImage/532.
convert: missing an image filename `hald.png' @ error/convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/2949.
So I tried (like in the post):

Code: Select all

convert -debug configure logo: null:
2014-02-25T11:38:28+01:00 0:00.020 0.000u 6.6.6 Configure convert[21099]: utility.c/ExpandFilenames/906/Configure
  Command line: convert {-debug} {configure} {logo:} {null:}
2014-02-25T11:38:28+01:00 0:00.020 0.000u 6.6.6 Configure convert[21099]: configure.c/GetConfigureOptions/564/Configure
  Searching for configure file: "/usr/share/ImageMagick-6.6.6/config/magic.xml"
2014-02-25T11:38:28+01:00 0:00.030 0.000u 6.6.6 Configure convert[21099]: configure.c/GetConfigureOptions/564/Configure
  Searching for configure file: "/usr/lib/ImageMagick-6.6.6/config/magic.xml"
2014-02-25T11:38:28+01:00 0:00.030 0.000u 6.6.6 Configure convert[21099]: configure.c/GetConfigureOptions/564/Configure
  Searching for configure file: "/usr/share/doc/ImageMagick-6.6.6/magic.xml"
2014-02-25T11:38:28+01:00 0:00.030 0.000u 6.6.6 Configure convert[21099]: configure.c/GetConfigureOptions/564/Configure
  Searching for configure file: "/usr/share/ImageMagick-6.6.6/magic.xml"
2014-02-25T11:38:28+01:00 0:00.030 0.000u 6.6.6 Configure convert[21099]: configure.c/GetConfigureOptions/564/Configure
  Searching for configure file: "/home/tom/.magick/magic.xml"
2014-02-25T11:38:28+01:00 0:00.030 0.000u 6.6.6 Configure convert[21099]: magic.c/LoadMagicList/678/Configure
  Loading magic configure file "/usr/share/ImageMagick-6.6.6/config/magic.xml" ...

ls -1  /usr/share/ImageMagick-6.6.6/config
coder.xml
colors.xml
log.xml
magic.xml
mime.xml
sRGB.icm
thresholds.xml
Now danielHeen wrote in the post:
Found out my problem.
For some reason modules was disabled in my configuration. Enabled it and it now works
But I don't know, where the modules loaded are configured. When I try to use a downloaded CLUT, it does work with:
"convert TEST.png CLUT.png -hald-clut TEST-0.png"
..but of course the result is not correct. I just wanted to test it.

How can I create a CLUT on my system?
tom

Ps:

Edited 'coder.xml':

Code: Select all

<codermap>
  <coder magick="GIF87" name="GIF"/>
  <coder magick="JPG" name="JPEG"/>
  <coder magick="PGM" name="PNM"/>
</codermap>
without result (I'm guessing...)
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: can not create hald-CLUT

Post by snibgo »

You are using IM v6.6.6 which is many years old. I don't know when hald:{n} was introduced. I suggest you upgrade.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: can not create hald-CLUT

Post by fmw42 »

According to the changelog:


2009-06-07 6.5.3-4 Cristy <quetzlzacatenango@image...>
Added the HALD image Color LUT, and a no-op HALD: image generator. See Introduction at http://www.quelsolaar.com/technology/clut.html


Might you have several version of IM on your system? What do you get from

convert -version

If on Unix, what about

type -a convert
OsunSeyi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-02-25T03:31:13-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: can not create hald-CLUT

Post by OsunSeyi »

Here I have:

Code: Select all

convert -version
Version: ImageMagick 6.6.6-10 2011-01-26 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2011 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features:    

type -a convert
convert is /usr/bin/convert
Last edited by OsunSeyi on 2014-02-25T11:32:50-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: can not create hald-CLUT

Post by fmw42 »

Can you upgrade? I suspect hald was not quite stable at it first release.
OsunSeyi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-02-25T03:31:13-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: can not create hald-CLUT

Post by OsunSeyi »

I'm on Slackware and don't like to upgrade, because it is unfortunately not easy for me.
Hmm, sometimes, I like to be on Ubuntu...
Isn't it possible to create a CLUT on another system (linux) and use it?

PS:
I tested it on Dyne:bolic and Salix (both a view Years old) and there it' s also not working.
OsunSeyi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-02-25T03:31:13-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: can not create hald-CLUT

Post by OsunSeyi »

Created a CLUT on a brandnew Linux-Mint (thanks to my neighbor) and it seems to work here.
Used 'as is' the result doesn't show differences to the original, used with +50% saturation made with 'xv' the result is a little darker than editing the original the same way. But I think I can use it this way! 8)
Post Reply