[SOLVED] Error using -clip in command line on Debian.

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
gabw
Posts: 28
Joined: 2014-07-20T09:20:15-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

[SOLVED] Error using -clip in command line on Debian.

Post by gabw »

Hi there!

I'm using ImageMagick Command Line tools to convert tiffs to png, resize them and remove the background by using clip (each tiff has an path)

Command without resizing:

Code: Select all

convert go.tif -alpha transparent -clip alpha.png
On my Ubuntu VM it works perfectly:

Code: Select all

Version: ImageMagick 6.6.9-7 2014-03-06 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
#================================
root@precise64:/var/www/sh/test# convert -list format | grep TIFF
      EPT  EPT       rw-   Encapsulated PostScript with TIFF preview
     EPT2  EPT       rw-   Encapsulated PostScript Level II with TIFF preview
     EPT3  EPT       rw+   Encapsulated PostScript Level III with TIFF preview
   GROUP4* TIFF      rw-   Raw CCITT Group4
     PTIF* TIFF      rw+   Pyramid encoded TIFF
     TIFF* TIFF      rw+   Tagged Image File Format (LIBTIFF, Version 3.9.5)
   TIFF64* TIFF      ---   Tagged Image File Format (64-bit) (LIBTIFF, Version 3.9.5)
#================================
But on my production server (a managed server without direct rights to install packages) the convert command exits with this error message:

Code: Select all

convert.im6: no decode delegate for this image format `go.tif#1' @ error/blob.c/BlobToImage/364.
Data of the prod. server:

Code: Select all

Version: ImageMagick 6.7.7-10 2014-03-08 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
#================================
$ convert -list format | grep TIFF
      EPT  EPT       rw-   Encapsulated PostScript with TIFF preview
     EPT2  EPT       rw-   Encapsulated PostScript Level II with TIFF preview
     EPT3  EPT       rw+   Encapsulated PostScript Level III with TIFF preview
   GROUP4* TIFF      rw-   Raw CCITT Group4
     PTIF* TIFF      rw+   Pyramid encoded TIFF
     TIFF* TIFF      rw+   Tagged Image File Format (LIBTIFF, Version 3.9.6)
   TIFF64* TIFF      ---   Tagged Image File Format (64-bit) (LIBTIFF, Version 3.9.6)
#================================
BTW: On all tested systems i got this Warning:

Code: Select all

convert.im6: go.tif: wrong data type 7 for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFReadDirectory' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/768.
Last edited by gabw on 2014-07-23T07:31:34-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Error using -clip in command line on Debian.

Post by fmw42 »

That is just a warning about some text field that IM does not understand. Tiff has lots of those non-standard fields. This can be ignored.

With respect to the path issue, there has been a bug report about IM not recognizing non-alternating direction paths. Check the Bugs and Developers forums.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Error using -clip in command line on Debian.

Post by fmw42 »

The report is here viewtopic.php?f=2&t=25882
gabw
Posts: 28
Joined: 2014-07-20T09:20:15-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Error using -clip in command line on Debian.

Post by gabw »

so there is no way to fix this at the moment?

Cause this error causes that the png's don't have a transparent background.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Error using -clip in command line on Debian.

Post by fmw42 »

Some bug fixes to -clip paths have been fixed and are now in the 6.8.9.6 beta. You can download that and try it.
gabw
Posts: 28
Joined: 2014-07-20T09:20:15-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Error using -clip in command line on Debian.

Post by gabw »

The server hosters found the problem. The reason was that the package "libmagickcore5-extra" was missing. Now it works properly.

But thanks for your feedback!
Post Reply