Page 1 of 1

problems with a combined animation (solved)

Posted: 2014-03-21T07:30:44-07:00
by geotyr
Hello
I am trying to combine 2 gif file of same size and frame rate into one (the second with an offset)

I have tried lots of options but all my results put them one after the other with a larger canvas

Here are the commands I have tried

convert Anim_AMP-001-280.gif -repage 1058x555 -coalesce \( Anim_ABS-001-280.gif -coalesce \) -geometry +529+0 -layers Anim_Hztl.gif
convert Anim_AMP-001-280.gif -repage 1058x555 -coalesce \( Anim_ABS-001-280.gif -coalesce -geometry +529+0 \) Anim_Hztl.gif

with variations on the position on the -geometry option. The -layers options is not recognized..

could anyone help me finding where is the error please?

Thank you

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T08:54:40-07:00
by snibgo
The main trick is to use "null:" to separate the gifs. For example:

Code: Select all

convert wandTip0.gif -coalesce null: ( wandTip1.gif -coalesce ) -geometry +50+60 -layers composite out.gif
EDIT: Windows syntax. Adjust for other platforms.

See http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/anim_mods/#append

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T09:12:51-07:00
by geotyr
when i try to use the null image I get this message
convert: unable to open image ` Null': No such file or directory @ blob.c/OpenBlob/2480.
convert: Missing Null Image List Separator layers Composite @ mogrify.c/MogrifyImageList/7899.

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T09:15:03-07:00
by snibgo
It works for me on v6.8.8-7 on Windows 8.1. What version and platform are you?

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T09:28:47-07:00
by geotyr
snibgo wrote:It works for me on v6.8.8-7 on Windows 8.1. What version and platform are you?
7:6.5.7.8-1ubuntu1.3
ubuntu 10.04 lucid

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T09:37:25-07:00
by snibgo
v6.5.7 is very old. I suggest you upgrade.

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T10:54:05-07:00
by geotyr
snibgo wrote:v6.5.7 is very old. I suggest you upgrade.
...I will try...
it is the "newest" version available with the distribution I am using
after half a day struggling with the commands I don't feel like struggling with the installation..to go back to struggling with the commands..
thanks for your time

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T11:01:13-07:00
by snibgo
A search on these forums for "Ubuntu" will show that many people are in this situation. I don't know why Ubuntu distributes software that is many years out of date.

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T12:40:36-07:00
by geotyr
snibgo wrote:A search on these forums for "Ubuntu" will show that many people are in this situation. I don't know why Ubuntu distributes software that is many years out of date.
that's maybe because we use an old distribution and we don't get the updates..
I don't like the new ones..

anyway the problem was elsewhere

I did it!! with this command..instead of using geometry I use the repage command to shift the second gif, the -coalesce options separates the frames and the -layers Compsite reorganize everything in the correct order!!


convert Anim_seccions.gif -repage 1281x234 -coalesce \( null: \) \( Anim_seccions_pos_234.gif -repage 1281x234+1058+0 -coalesce \) -layers Composite Anim_seccions_f.gif

I just had to resize the second gif with this command before

convert Anim_seccions_pos.gif -resize 243x234 -layers coalesce Anim_seccions_pos_234.gif

Thanks for your help!!

Re: problems with a combined animation

Posted: 2014-03-21T13:04:05-07:00
by Bonzo
I don't know why Ubuntu distributes software that is many years out of date.
This is the problem with most Linux servers and cpanel is no better.

One reason I could not get used to Linux when I tried it was that the standard software did not work - for instance I wanted to rip some CD's to ogg and the default Ubuntu software did not work. I spoke to the Linux IT guy at work and from memory he said "The people who build the distro's? like to put their own software in even if it does not work" and told me to remove the standard cd ripper that came with Ubuntu and install another one.

Re: problems with a combined animation (solved)

Posted: 2014-03-21T13:11:47-07:00
by geotyr
I have just tried to run the command without the null: and it doessn't work

I guess the syntax with windows is slightly different or it is a question of version

for each new image I have to open with \( space and close with space\)