"Display" command not working
Posted: 2014-12-10T13:14:34-07:00
Hello,
I am new to ImageMagick; my eventual goal is to start using the Python API to hook up the tool to a language interface (for a research project), but I'm trying to familiarize myself with the command line version.
Although the "convert" method works, the "display" command results in an error. I checked out this thread from a while ago (viewtopic.php?t=23344) for some advice, and I came to the conclusion that X11 isn't recognized by ImageMagick for some reason:
The suggestion on the thread was to install XCode Tools. However, I already have XCode on my computer, and I already had it when I downloaded ImageMagick. Is there something extra that's necessary to link up IM to X11 for display?
(Ultimately, display will be particularly important for the project, because I want people to be able to type language commands in and make changes to the image, which is displayed on the screen.)
I am new to ImageMagick; my eventual goal is to start using the Python API to hook up the tool to a language interface (for a research project), but I'm trying to familiarize myself with the command line version.
Although the "convert" method works, the "display" command results in an error. I checked out this thread from a while ago (viewtopic.php?t=23344) for some advice, and I came to the conclusion that X11 isn't recognized by ImageMagick for some reason:
Code: Select all
wifi141:imagemagick seantrott$ convert -version
Version: ImageMagick 6.8.9-1 Q16 x86_64 2014-05-12 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2014 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: DPC Modules
Delegates: bzlib freetype jng jpeg ltdl lzma png xml zlib
(Ultimately, display will be particularly important for the project, because I want people to be able to type language commands in and make changes to the image, which is displayed on the screen.)