Should these go into configure.xml?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
GilbertB
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-06-06T00:23:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Should these go into configure.xml?

Post by GilbertB »

When I process my image gallery my CPU hits 100 every time. I saw that I should add

MAGICK_THREAD_LIMIT="2"
and
MAGICK_THROTTLE="?"

--- Can these be added to /usr/lib64/ImageMagick-6.7.8/config/configure.xml ?

If not, I cant find any other paths or xml files to add them to, which one do I use?

--- What is a suggested setting for Throttle?

Thx!



BTW Here is my dir:

/usr/include/ImageMagick/magick/etc
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Should these go into configure.xml?

Post by magick »

You can set resource limits in policy.xml.
GilbertB
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-06-06T00:23:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Should these go into configure.xml?

Post by GilbertB »

Thx, any suggested setting for Throttle?
GilbertB
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-06-06T00:23:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Should these go into configure.xml?

Post by GilbertB »

Is this oke then:

<policy domain="resource" name="area" value="1GB"/>

Define arguments for the memory, map, area, and disk resources with
SI prefixes (.e.g 100MB). In addition, resource policies are maximums for
each instance of ImageMagick (e.g. policy memory limit 1GB, -limit 2GB
exceeds policy maximum so memory limit is 1GB).
-->
<policymap>
<!-- <policy domain="system" name="precision" value="6"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="temporary-path" value="/tmp"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="memory" value="2GiB"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="map" value="4GiB"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="area" value="1GB"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="disk" value="16EB"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="file" value="768"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="thread" value="4"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="throttle" value="0"/> -->
<!-- <policy domain="resource" name="time" value="3600"/> -->
</policymap>
<configure name="MAGICK_THREAD_LIMIT" value="2"/>



Oh, and do I have to reboot or anything to make the change apply?
Post Reply