Cannot convert 32 bit floating point tif to 32 bit psd file

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
andreaks

Cannot convert 32 bit floating point tif to 32 bit psd file

Post by andreaks »

I'm trying to convert a 32 bit floating point tif file to a 32 bit psd file using convert from ImageMagic 6.6.1-5: The executable is a Q32 build:

> ~/ImageMagick/bin/convert -version
Version: ImageMagick 6.6.1-5 2010-04-30 Q32 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2010 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: HDRI

Here's the command line I executed:
~/ImageMagick/bin/convert testfile.tif -depth 32 testfile.psd

After the conversion, I open testfile.psd in PhotoShop and it indicates it's a 16 bit file. The identify program also indicates 16 bit:
> ~/ImageMagick/bin/identify testfile.psd
testfile.psd PSD 4096x4096 4096x4096+0+0 16-bit PseudoClass 256c 33.55MB 0.030u 0:00.030

Is it possible to get a 32 bit psd file out of convert? If so, what am I doing wrong?
Thanks!
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Cannot convert 32 bit floating point tif to 32 bit psd f

Post by fmw42 »

what do you mean by 32-bits? 32-bits = 8bits per channel (RGBA) or 32-bits per channel (RGBA each 32-bits)
For 8-bits per channel=4x8 for RGBA, you only need Q8 IM or Q16 IM with -depth 8.

Not sure that PSD supports 32-bits per channel?


For full floating point 32-bits per channel (with fraction and negatives) you need HDRI (Q16 is sufficient), which supports TIFF, MIFF, PFM formats. (Don't know about 32-bits PDS).
andreaks

Re: Cannot convert 32 bit floating point tif to 32 bit psd f

Post by andreaks »

Oh, sorry -- it's 32 bits per channel. Here's the spec from tiffinfo:

TIFF Directory at offset 0x1e8e546
Image Width: 4096 Image Length: 4096
Bits/Sample: 32
Sample Format: IEEE floating point
Compression Scheme: AdobeDeflate
Photometric Interpretation: RGB color
Image Description: "/tmp/testfile.tif"
Orientation: row 0 top, col 0 lhs
Samples/Pixel: 3
Rows/Strip: 1
Planar Configuration: single image plane
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Cannot convert 32 bit floating point tif to 32 bit psd f

Post by fmw42 »

I don't think PSD supports 32-bits per channel. You had better look into that? If it does, then you will likely need to be in IM HDRI mode. But I am not sure IM supports writing to 32-bits per channel PSD even if PSD supports it. I have only used MIFF, TIFF, MPC and PFM formats in 32-bits mode (for FFT work) using Q16 HDRI IM.
Post Reply